Bioinspired antagonistic joint drives based on translatory piezo motors - construction and control approaches.



Modern piezoelectric motors like the PiezoLEGS motor (PiezoMotor Uppsala AB, Stålgatan 14, Uppsala, Sweden) combine small size, high-precision drive capabilities, intermediate forces and fast operation. Within this project, bioinspired robotic joint drives are constructed which feature an antagonistic arrangement of piezomotors. Control algorithms based on force and position measurements are developed that foster the application of superordinate neurobionic control approaches. A possible future application is the area of microgripping and microrobots.

Contact: Filip Szufnarowski
fszufnarowski@...

Neurobionic control concepts for elastic joint drives.



Current robotic research focuses on elastic features of joints and segments as a basis for safe human-machine interaction and cooperation. The roadmap for strategies and regulations "to let the robots out of their cages" is currently designed. We suggest to observe the biological example closely to implement already successful solutions on technical systems. This project aims at the development of new control approaches which integrate muscle models and bioinspired controllers in a technical framework with a strong foundation in classical control theory. These approaches will be used for different types of motors which incorporate real as well as simulated elastic elements. Experiments, simulations and theoretical considerations will be used to compare bioinspired and classical approaches to finally use the best combinations of solutions from these two worlds.

Contact: Salvatore Annunziata
salvatore.annunziata@...

Development of integrated, miniaturized, elastic actuators based on synchronous motors.



The development of lightweight and small-sized joint drives for robotic application is the centre point of this project. These joint drives contain all necessary electronics to host bionics control ideas together with classical robot controllers. A key feature of these novel actuators will be the power-to-weight ratio which lies in the range of real, biological muscles (nominal operation). Ongoing optimization minimizes the amount and weight of (non-functional) housing parts. As found in biological examples, the drives in this project feature a high integration level of micro sensors. At the end stands a bioinspired, self-contained and modular drive system that can be used for different limb constructions.

Contact: Jan Paskarbeit and Salvatore Annunziata
jpaskarbeit@...
salvatore.annunziata@...

Designing a multi-legged robot as a test-bed for motion intelligence mechanisms.



In the last years, work in different projects established an understanding of walking on a basic level. However, biological research demands a different perspective on the construction and control of walking, running and climbing agents which in many cases does not fit into the framework roboticists are used to. In the presented project, a compliant and powerful walking/climbing machine is developed. The control of the legs and their coordination is based on biological findings. The local control approaches are tightly connected to the idea of embodiment and situatedness. The leg coordination - in the shape of neural networks - is the foundation for planning-capabilities as one key feature of cognition.

Contact: Jan Paskarbeit
jpaskarbeit@...

A four-phase arbitrary waveform generator for the control of translatory piezo drives.



The generation of arbitrary waveforms is solved in modern waveform generators. However, for the control of translatory piezo drives, a four-phase power system is needed which exceeds the features of current of-the-shelf waveform generation. The most important features of this power system are a) the generation of free relations between the phases (including online-mirroring), b) output of the phase system with an electric power that corresponds to the power rating of the motor and c) a small scale electronics setup w.r.t. the small-sized piezo motors. In addition, this project combines piezo motor control functions directly with waveform generation algorithms.

Contact: Daniel Basa
daniel.basa@...

Design and implementation of control- and power electronics for a BLDC motor.



To apply bioinspired control approaches to joint drives which are actuated by modern, synchronous electrical motors, a close interaction between hardware controllers and neurobionical control layers is important. This interaction must be facilitated by integration of both aspects on just one electronic setup. This project investigates the principle layout of a combination of miniaturized power electronics and microcontroller-based control electronics. Different small-sized electronic setups were first designed and then investigated to minimize noise and cross-talk effects. A key feature of miniaturization of power electronics is the ability to operate the power system with small-sized capacitors. This aspect was also taken into consideration.

Contact: Jeffrey Queißer and Jan Paskarbeit
jqueisse@techfak....
jpaskarbeit@...

Active measurement of the substrate stiffness in multi-legged standing.



Recent biological studies on stick insects suggest that the character of the joint controllers (I-, P- or D-controller) depends on the compliance of the substrate (soft, intermediate or inelastic) the insect is standing on. To model these results, we proposed a self-adjusting joint controller that changes its own setpoint in dependance of the substrate stiffness. The substrate stiffness is determined by means of a correlator circuit that compares movement commands injected into the joint with the actual responses of the leg. In addition, this project investigates if the correlation approach described above can also be used when several legs of one body perform the stiffness test at the same time.

Contact: Dr. Axel Schneider
axel.schneider@...
Notice: Email addresses are abbreviated: expand "..." to "uni-bielefeld.de".

Bioinspired antagonistic joint drives based on translatory piezo motors - construction and control approaches.




Moderne piezoelektrische Antriebe wie der PiezoLEGS-Motor (PiezoMotor Uppsala AB, Stålgatan 14, Uppsala, Schweden) vereinen hohe Präzision und geringe Größe mit einem schnellen Verfahrbetrieb bei einem mittleren Kraftniveau. Dieses Projekt hat die Konstruktion von biologisch inspirierten Robotergelenken, basierend auf einer antagonistischen Anordnung von Piezomotoren zum Ziel. Entwickelt werden Regelalgorithmen, für Kraft- und Positionsregelung, welche den Einsatz von übergeordneten, neurobionischen Regelungsansätzen fördern. Zukünftige Anwendungsgebiete sind die Bereiche des Mikro-Greifens und der Mikro-Robotik.

Kontakt: Filip Szufnarowski
fszufnarowski@...

Neurobionic control concepts for elastic joint drives.



Aktuelle Forschung im Bereich der Arm- und Bein-Robotik konzentriert sich auf elastische Gelenke und Segmente als Grundlage für die Verbesserung der Sicherheit in der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion und -Kooperation. Wir verfolgen die Idee, bereits erfolgreiche Lösungen biologischer Vorbilder zu analysieren und diese auf technische Systeme zu übertragen. Dieses Projekt legt den Fokus auf die Entwicklung neuer Regelungsansätze, welche Muskelmodelle und biologisch inspirierte Regler in einen technischen Rahmen, basierend auf klassischen Regelungstheorien, integrieren. Diese Ansätze werden auf unterschiedlichen Motortypen eingesetzt, welche sowohl reale als auch simulierte elastische Elemente verwenden. Unter Berücksichtigung von Experimenten, Simulationen und theoretische Betrachtungen werden biologisch inspirierte Ansätze mit klassischen Ansätzen verglichen, um letztendlich die beste Kombination von Lösungen aus beiden Teilgebieten zu vereinen.

Kontakt: Salvatore Annunziata
salvatore.annunziata@...

Development of integrated, miniaturized, elastic actuators based on synchronous motors.



Die Entwicklung von Roboter-Gelenkantrieben, mit einem geringem Gewicht und einer kompakten Bauform ist der Kern dieses Projekts. Diese Gelenkantriebe verfügen bereits über die nötige Elektronik, um eine Kombination aus bionischen Regelungskonzepten und klassischen Regelungsansätzen zu betreiben. Ein günstiges Leistungsgewicht, welches im Bereich von realen biologischen Muskeln liegt, ist eine Schlüsseleigenschaft dieser neuartigen Antriebe. Wie die biologischen Vorbilder, bauen auch die Antriebe in diesem Projekt auf lokal integrierte Mikrosensoren. Am Ende steht ein biologisch inspirierter, in sich geschlossener modularer Aktuator sein, der für den Antrieb unterschiedlicher Gliedmaßenkonstruktionen eingesetzt werden kann.

Kontakt: Jan Paskarbeit und Salvatore Annunziata
jpaskarbeit@...
salvatore.annunziata@...

Designing a multi-legged robot as a test-bed for motion intelligence mechanisms.



In den letzten Jahren wurde durch unterschiedliche Forschungsprojekte ein grundlegendes Verständnis im Bereich der Kontrolle des Gehens erreicht. Erkenntnisse aus biologischen Systemen verlangen neue Ansätze bei der Konstruktion und Regelung von gehenden, laufenden und kletternden Agenten. Diese Ansätze eignen sich häufig nicht für die Verwendung im Rahmen klassischer Regelungskonzepte. Das vorgestellte Projekt legt den Forschungsschwerpunkt auf die Entwicklung eine nachgiebigen und leistungsstarken Lauf- bzw. Klettermaschine. Die Regelung und Koordination der Gliedmaßen basiert auf biologischen Erkenntnissen, welche die lokale Regelung eng mit Konzepten wie Embodiment und Situatedness verknüpft. Die Koordination der Gliedmaßen, in Form von neuronalen Netzen realisiert, ist die Grundvoraussetzung für Planungsfähigkeit als eine Schlüsseleigenschaft für Kognition.

Kontakt: Jan Paskarbeit
jpaskarbeit@...

A four-phase arbitrary waveform generator for the control of translatory piezo drives.



Die Erzeugung beliebiger Spannungsverläufe wird mit Hilfe moderner Funktionsgeneratoren gelöst. Für die Ansteuerung von translatorisch wirkenden piezoelektrischen Motoren wird jedoch eine Leistungsstufe für ein vier Phasennetz benötigt, welches die Möglichkeiten eines gängigen Funktionsgenerators übersteigt. Die wichtigsten Eigenschaften einer solchen Leistungsstufe sind a) die Erzeugung von untereinander unabhängigen Phasen (einschließlich Phasenspiegelung), b) die Ausgabe des Phasennetzes in einem Leistungsbereich, der den Anforderungen des Motors entspricht und c) eine kompakte Dimensionierung der Elektronik im Hinblick auf die kleine Bauform der Piezomotoren. Dieses Projekt vereint Regelung und Ansteuerung eines Piezoelektrischen Motors auf der Grundlage der oben erwähnten Anforderungen.

Kontakt: Daniel Basa
daniel.basa@...

Design and implementation of control- and power electronics for a BLDC motor.



Um biologisch inspirierte Regelungsansätze auf Gelenke anzuwenden, welche durch moderne, synchrone Elektromotoren angetrieben werden, ist eine enge Interaktion zwischen Hardware-Controllern und neurobionischen Reglern erforderlich. Diese Interaktion wird durch die Integration beider Seiten in einem gemeinsamen elektronischen Aufbau erleichtert. Dieses Projekt untersucht den prinzipiellen Entwurf einer Kombination von miniaturisierten Leistungsstufen und Mikro-Controller basierten Regelungselektroniken. Unterschiedliche Elektroniken wurden entworfen und untersucht um Störungen und Cross-Talk-Effekte zu minimieren. Eine Schlüsseleigenschaft bei der Miniaturisierung von Leistungsstufen ist die Fähigkeit diese mit Kondensatoren mit möglichst kleiner Bauform zu betreiben.

Kontakt: Jeffrey Queißer und Jan Paskarbeit
jqueisse@techfak....
jpaskarbeit@...

Active measurement of the substrate stiffness in multi-legged standing.



Aktuelle biologische Studien über Stabheuschrecken deuten darauf hin, dass die Charakteristik der Gelenk-Regler (I-, P-, oder D-Regler) von der Nachgiebigkeit des Substrats (weich bis unelastisch) abhängt, auf welchem das Insekt steht. Um diese Ergebnisse zu modellieren, haben wir einen selbsteinstellenden Gelenk-Regler eingeführt, welcher seine Reglercharakteristik in Abhängigkeit von der Steifigkeit des Untergrunds ändert. Die Steifigkeit des Substrats wird über eine Korrelationsmessung bestimmt, welche die Steuerbefehle, die für die Aktivierung des Gelenks verwendet werden, mit den zugehörigen Systemantworten des Beins vergleicht. Dieses Projekt untersucht ob der oben beschriebene Korrelationsansatz benutzt werden kann, wenn mehrere Beine den Steifigkeitstest gleichzeitig ausführen.

Kontakt: Dr. Axel Schneider
axel.schneider@...
Notiz: E-Mail Adressen sind abgekürzt: "..." durch "uni-bielefeld.de" ersetzen.